Washington County Community Foundation

The Washington County Community Foundation has completed its post-secondary scholarship cycle for 2019, awarding 85 scholarships totaling $306,450.

The funds, students, high schools, and awards are:

Alice Boone Main Memorial Fund – Sydney Pochiba, McGuffey High School, $500.

Arthur V. Ciervo Scholarship Fund – Casey Falcon, Bethlehem-Center High School, $500.

Black Family Scholarship Fund – Awards of $1,000 each went to Alexandra Cilia, Avella High School, and Savannah Pettit, West Greene High School.

Buckholt Science Scholarship Fund – Molly Helbley, McGuffey High School, $500.

Burgettstown Junior-Senior High School Student Council Leadership Scholarship Fund – Madison Tournay, Burgettstown High School, $500.

Burgettstown Lions Club Scholarship Fund – Three Burgettstown High School seniors received scholarships. Madison Tournay received $250; Travis Cox, $250; and Ashley Cunningham, $500.

CAS/Dr. Kim Stacher Scholarship Fund – Ieshia Matusz, Carmichaels High School, $1,000.

Chapman Family Scholarship Fund – Twelve awards were made from this fund. Recipients are: Jacob Popielarczyk, Charleroi High School, $1,000; Ashlee Slusarek, Burgettstown High School, $1,000; Abby Angus, Burgettstown High School, $2,000; Elise Benke, Waynesburg Central High School, $4,000; Dajah Gudel, California High School, $2,000; Selena Phillips, Waynesburg Central High School, $4,000; Austin Kimenski, Trinity High School, $1,000; Blaze Koteles, Canon-McMillan High School, $2,000; Alexia Myers, Avella High School, $2,000; Britney Pollock, Carmichaels High School, $4,000; Haleigh Thomas, West Greene High School, $4,000; Catherine Thompson, Waynesburg Central High School, $4,000.

Charles Pappas Sr. Scholarship Fund – Alexis Hart, Burgettstown High School, $500.

Christman Family Scholarship Fund – Tiarra Carter-Green, Washington High School, $4,000.

Clyde J. Tracanna/Washington Rotary Club Educational and Vocational Fund – Awards of $1,000 each went to Colin Walters, McGuffey High School; Rexanna Quedenfeld, Trinity High School; and Amanda Keister, Washington High School.

Cynthia McCuen Scholarship Fund – Emily Condon, McGuffey High School, $1,000.

D. Jack & Geraldine L. Gaido Memorial Scholarship Fund – Julia Faust, Trinity High School, $4,000.

Dave Pew Memorial Scholarship Fund – John Vanderhoff, Peters Township High School, $600.

David O. and Sara F. Johnson Family Education Fund – Paisley Travis, McGuffey High School, $1,000.

Elizabeth Plumer Memorial Scholarship – Nicholas Roth, Trinity High School, $1,000.

EQT Students of Excellence Award – Tanish Rastogi, Peters Township High School, $72,000.

Additionally, five awards of $1,000 each went to: Cole Bianchi, Ringgold High School; Hannah Bockius, Canon McMillan; John Lignelli, Ringgold High School; Zachary Strennen, Peters Township High School; Grant Zeszutek, Canon-McMillan High School.

Friends of MarkWest Scholarship Fund II – Anthony Venditti, Canon-McMillan High School, received $1,000. Ricky Howard, Trinity High School, received $2,000. Additionally, nine awards of $4,000 each went to Brendan Berton, Trinity High School; Joshua Colletti, Chartiers-Houston High School; Christopher Day, Trinity High School; McKenzie Faure, Fort Cherry High School; Kenna Hixenbaugh, Avella High School; Julianne Latynski, Avella High School; Erin Smith, Burgettstown High School; Carly Terensky, Avella High School; Noah Lochran, Chartiers-Houston High School.

George & Mary Matijevich Scholarship Fund – Madison Novak, Fort Cherry High School, $1,000.

Hunter Lafe McAdoo Scholarship Fund – Emily Condon, McGuffey High School, $1,000.

John & Sophie Choratch Scholarship Fund – Awards of $9,000 each went to Tyler Kerr, Canon-McMillan High School and Taylor Powers, Avella High School.

Joseph P. Femiani Memorial Scholarship – Kyle Kroboth, Peters Township High School, $1,000.

Kirk C. Moninger Fund – Chet Locy, Trinity High School, $300.

Kiwanis Club of Washington Scholarship Fund – Tyler Culp, Chartiers-Houston High School, $1,000.

Linda LeFever Scholarship Fund for a Graduate Student – Johanna St. John, Carnegie Mellon University, $1,000.

Margaret Pitek Ciervo Scholarship Fund – Teighan Finley, Bethlehem Center High School, $500.

Megan J. Phillis Scholarship Fund for Academic Excellence – Emma Gragan, Burgettstown High School, $500.

Olivia Scott Scholarship Fund – Awards of $1,000 each went to Lauren Hoge, McGuffey High School, and Carley Allen, Washington High School.

Ralph W. Young Family Scholarship Fund – Nine awards of $10,000 each went to Madelyn Koontz, Ringgold High School; Giovani Bruno, Charleroi High School; Alex Andrechak, Charleroi High School; Noah Meyers, Bethlehem-Center High School; Trent Gerard, Ringgold High School; Tyler Dobrinski, Bethlehem-Center High School; Katie Reed, Charleroi High School; Nickolas Laskey, Charleroi High School; Phoebe Wentzell, Charleroi High School.

Rebecca Sarah Rogers School Fund – Tiarra Carter-Green, Washington High School, $1,000.

Ringgold Alumni Scholarship Fund – Katelyn Chrisman, Ringgold High School, $250.

Ronald T. Miller, II Scholarship Fund – Mia Spergel, Peters Township High School, $1,000.

Ryan Johnston & Vaughn Johnston Scholarship Fund – Sydney Pochiba, McGuffey High School, $1,500.

Sam & Bev Minor Fund – Angela Tocci, Trinity High School, $1,000.

Scholarship Fund for the Arts – Kathryn Crouch, Chartiers-Houston High School, $800.

Sprowls College & Post-Graduate Scholarship Fund – Kathryn Robinson, Fort Cherry High School, $1,000.

Three Oaks Scholarship Fund – Two awards of $1,000 each went to Burgettstown High School seniors Alia Bowers and Ashlee Slusarek.

Timothy Edward Hitchon Scholarship Fund – Mya Quarture, Trinity High School, $1,000.

Washington County Gay Straight Alliance Scholarship Fund – Two awards of $4,000 each went to Regis Curtis, Fort Cherry High School, and Maylyn Torpey, Burgettstown High School.

Washington County Visiting Nurses’ Association Scholarship Fund – Two awards of $1,750 each went to Lauren McGavitt, who studies nursing at Waynesburg University, and Akira Wheeler, who studies nursing at Wheeling Jesuit University.

William L. & Barbara M. Laird Fund – Tori Danna, a student at Slippery Rock University, received $1,000.

Cumulatively, the Washington County Community Foundation has awarded more than $1,300,000 in post-secondary scholarships to local students. The WCCF also awards scholarships to pre-kindergarten students and scholarships to kindergarten through grade 12 students attending non-public schools. Cumulatively, more than $2,200,000 has been awarded from all scholarship funds. To learn more about the WCCF’s scholarship opportunities, please visit www.wccf.net.

See what people are talking about at The Community Table!

Thank you for reading!

Please log in, or sign up for a new account and purchase a subscription to read or post comments.